Sep 152017
 

Listed below are 2018 Mumbai Holidays. Also listed are Bank Holidays in Maharashtra and Mumbai Public Holidays in 2018.

In 2018, there are 9 long weekend holidays in Mumbai and Maharashtra. Of these Mahavir Jayanti and Good Friday is a 4 day holiday.

 

 

 

Dates of 2018 Mumbai Holidays and Maharashtra Holidays

DATES OF MUMBAI HOLIDAYS IN 2018 DAY 2018 MUMBAI HOLIDAYS AND MAHARASHTRA HOLIDAYS
26 January, 2018 Friday Republic Day. Constitution of India came into effect.
13 February, 2018 Tuesday Mahashivratri (Hindu Festival celebrating the wedding of Lord Shiva. He is also believed to have saved the universe on this day.)
19 February, 2018 Monday Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti (Shivaji’s Birthday)
02 March, 2018 Friday Holi (Hindu Festival of Colour, that celebrates the victory of good over evil. Holika is burned the previous evening.)
29 March, 2018 Thursday Mahavir Jayanti (Birthday of Mahavir, the 24th and last Tirthankara of the Jains)
30 March, 2018 Friday Good Friday (Jesus Christ’s death by crucifixtion. Easter is celebrated on Sunday, 1 April, 2018.)
14 April, 2018 Saturday Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti (Bharat Ratna B.R. Ambedkar’s Birthday. Large crowds gather at his memorial in Dadar Chowpatty.)
01 May, 2018 Tuesday Maharashtra Day or Maharashtra Diwas (Day on which Maharastra State was formed.)
22 May, 2018 Tuesday Buddha Purnima (Vesak, Buddha Jayanti) (Buddhist Festival celebrating Gautum Buddha’s Birth and Enlightenment)
14 June, 2018 Thursday Ramzan (Ramadan) Id (Eid-Al-Fitr or Id-Al-Fitr or Eid-Ul-Fitr) (This marks the end of the Muslim holy month of fasting. Festival starts on the previous evening and date varies depending on the moon.)
15 August, 2018 Wednesday India’s Independence Day
17 August, 2018 Friday Parsi New Year (Pateti is the Parsi day of Repentence and also the Parsee New Year. Pateti date is based on Shahenshahi or Kadmi calendar. )
22 August, 2018 Wednesday Id-Ul-Zua (Eid-Al-Adha or Bakri Id) (Muslim Festival celebrates Abraham/Ibrahim’s willingness to sacrifice his son for God. It starts on the previous evening and date may wary depending on the moon)
10 September, 2018 Monday Moharum (Muharram Ashura) (10th Day of the holy month of Muharam.)
13 September, 2018 Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi (10 day Hindu Festival of Lord Ganesh. No where in the world is Ganpati celebrated with more fervour and excitement than in Mumbai.)
02 October, 2018 Tuesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti (Father of the Nation, Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday.)
19 October, 2018 Friday Dussehra (Dasara) (Hindu festival marks the end of Navratri. It is also the end of Durga Puja.)
07 November, 2018 Wednesday Diwali (Amavasya) (Laxmi Puja, Chopda Pooja)
08 November, 2108 Thursday Diwali (Balipratipada) (Govardhan Puja, Gujarati New Year, Bali Padwa for Maharashtrians)
21 November, 2018 Wednesday Eid-E-Milad (Id-E-Milad, Milad-Un-Nabi, Mawlid) (Muslim Festival celebrates the birthday of Prophet Muhammad. It starts on the previous evening and date varies depending on the moon)
23 November, 2018 Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti (Sikh festival celebrates the birthday of the Founder and First Guru of the Sikhs.)
25 December, 2018 Tuesday Christmas (Christian Festival celebrating the Birth of Jesus Christ.)

 

 

 

 

Dates of Bank Holidays in Maharashtra in 2018

In addition to the above holiday list the following are also Bank holidays in Maharashtra and Mumbai.

BANK HOLIDAY DATES IN 2018 DAY BANK HOLIDAY IN MAHARASHTRA AND MUMBAI IN 2018
02 April, 2018 Monday Banks are closed to enable them to close their annual books. This bank holiday is usually on 1 April, but since it falls on Sunday, 2 April, 2018 is a Bank Holiday.
01 October, 2018 Monday Banks are closed to enable them to close their half yearly books. This bank holiday is usually on 30 September, but since it falls on Sunday, 1 October, 2018 is a Bank Holiday.

 

Dates of Mumbai Holidays, Bank Holidays in Maharashtra

 
 


 

2018 Maharashtra and Mumbai Holidays that are on Sunday

2018 HOLIDAYS ON SUNDAY DAY MAHARASHTRA AND MUMBAI HOLIDAYS IN 2018 ON SUNDAY
18 March, 2018 Sunday Gudi Padwa (Maharashtrian New Year), Ugadi, First Day of Chaitra Navratri
25 March, 2018 Sunday Ram Navami (End of Chaitra Navratri) (Hindu Festival Celebrating the Birthday of Lord Ram)

 

List of Holidays in India, Maharashtra and Mumbai.

 
 


 

RELATED ARTICLES:

 

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.